Make your own free website on Tripod.com


  Batman Reviews     
  Batman Chats
  Bat Chat #2 - 9/29/2000 (Page 1)

This topic is 4 pages long:   1  2  3  4 
Author Topic:   Batman Chat #2 with Ed Brubaker
Ed Brubaker
Member/BatmanWriter
posted September 29, 2000 03:42 PM    
This is the thread today's chat will be on, so post any early questions here.

Viceroy-BATMAN
Member
posted September 29, 2000 03:58 PM    
Will the events of Batman #582-3 have linger in the future issues of Batman? Is this a more self-contained story?

------------------
"Waitaminute.... I've never seen you!" -- The Joker
Feel free to visit the following websites...
Batman Net-Coverage of all the Batman Universe

Batman Interactive Message Boards now at http://welcome.to/batboard

X-Men vs the Brotherhood

X-Men vs the Brotherhood Boards now at http://welcome.to/xmenboard

Junk Yard Dawg
Member
posted September 29, 2000 05:09 PM    
Hey Ed--just wanted to tell you I read "Deadenders" #1 and thought it was pretty cool. I would give it a B+--I wrote a brief mini-review of it in the "A Thread for Batman Reviews" thread. I'm looking forward to reading the next issue when I get a chance (had some exams to grade today which took a while).

LLance43
Member
posted September 29, 2000 05:09 PM    
I actually got to pick up the comic a day earlier than anticipated. I still have to work, but thought I'd jot down some thoughts and a question or two.
Finally! A Batman with Passion! Long overdue and done very well! Thank you, Ed! This is a Batman we have been without for far too long! I would have loved the scene between Gordon and Batman to have gone down just a little differently. It would have been nice to see Batman actually say goodbye to Gordon and then actually stay in Gordon's line of sight as he left. Of course, this would have left Gordon scratching his head in utter amazement! "Batman said goodbye!?! I actually saw him leave!?!" I think it would have been amusing and conveyed this subtle change in Batman's character in deed as well as action!
How soon before Weiss reappears? Who could his boss be? How does his boss relate to the Penguin? I really don't expect you to answer these questions here, Ed, but do feel free to tease and tantilize us!

-----once over and I really, really like this interpretation of Batman!--------

------------------
LLance

Junk Yard Dawg
Member
posted September 29, 2000 05:21 PM    
What's gotten into you Ed...do you think you can (*gasp*) actually make the Penguin cool?

Dre
Member
posted September 29, 2000 06:54 PM    
Hey Ed!

Great start you've made! I loved #582 & #583. To start with, just a few questions:

1. Did it hurt your ego (even slightly) that they printed Hama's name on the cover of your first Batman?

2. Do you have the lee-way to create new villains or do you have to get an okay from the boys and girls at DC?

3. Which villain do you like most and why?

4. Are these too many questions to start with?

Still around, DRE!!

batcave_dweller
Member
posted September 29, 2000 06:55 PM    
Okay, I'm here. And 5 mins early. let the "chatting" begin!!!

SIN
Member
posted September 29, 2000 06:56 PM    
ild like to see Penguin throw some payback at Batman for all the times he's been used as a pin cushion.

here're my questions:

1. was Jeremy inspired by that Batman Animated character in the episode where Dick quit?

i currently have mad Batman stories in my head (like everyone here, im sure) that ill put in script form sometime in the near future (really).

just for fun, i wanna ask...

2. how many Joker stories (or story ideas) do you have up there in your head? if not many, which villain did you use the most in your "ideas" when you thought them up for fun?

------------------
the Original SIN

DeNile
Member
posted September 29, 2000 06:56 PM    
Ed, hi. Here are my questions on the issue: 1) WHO IS ZIESS'S BOSS???????? We learned that he has had dealings with The Penguin before, but WHO IS HE???? Will this be revealed later?
And, 2) What was Ziess hired to do?
It seems he was hired by SOMEONE to do something in Gotham. But what was it?
3) I love your writing!!!!! It's the freshest, most human Batman I've ever seen. However, do you know if you're the PERMANET Batman scribe??? If not, when will you know?

If you could answer these questions I'd really appreaciate it!

------------------
DeNile

batcave_dweller
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:03 PM    
Ed, I have a couple of questions...

1) Do you have an inspiration for your writing of Batman, like a classic comic book writer or anyone (or anything) else?

2) If you could work collaborate with another writer for a Batman story who would it be, anyone at all???

3) What artists will you be working with on 'Turning Points'?

4) WHO-LET-THE-DOGS-OUT?

------------------
"WHASSUP!!!!!!" (See Legends of the Dark Knight #134 pg. 8)

Batman and Superman made comics what they are today PERIOD!!!

Until they go out of business for lack of advertising, make mine DC!!!

Dre
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:08 PM    
Another question Ed:

WHERE ARE YOU?

Ed Brubaker
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:09 PM    
"Will the events of Batman #582-3 have linger in the future issues of Batman?"

Yes, they certainly will, in some pretty weird ways, too.

"How soon before Weiss reappears?"

Uncertain. Probably spring, one way or another. But I can't say where or why.

"Who could his boss be? How does his boss relate to the Penguin?"

Yeah, I can't really say, but it'll be a big surprise when it comes out.

Yes, I think I can make Penguin cool.
Wait until December.

1. Did it hurt your ego (even slightly) that they printed Hama's name on the cover of your first Batman?

I thought it was funny when I first heard about it, but it was kind of lame. I think it hurt sales on the book, too. A lot of people I know didn't get it because of that error. But in the long run, it doesn't matter, does it?

2. Do you have the lee-way to create new villains or do you have to get an okay from the boys and girls at DC?

I had to get an okay on the name, really. That was a lot of work. Originally, Ziess was called the Nigh****chman, which ties into his background (secretly) a little more, but there turns out to be some Batman rip-off called Knigh****chman, so that was out.

3. Which villain do you like most and why?

Hard to say. Two-Face or Joker, because they are classic, and extreme.

1. was Jeremy inspired by that Batman Animated character in the episode where Dick quit?

No. I just saw that episode the other day for the first time. I was just trying to come up with a cool character that might have criminal insights, while still being good.

I don't have ideas for specific villains really. I just try to figure out what story the characters would work best in, and it falls into place, really. I don't work the other way.

We will find out who Ziess's boss is. And it seems obvious to me that he was hired to test himself against Batman because of his boss' imminent return to gotham.

Ed Brubaker
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:14 PM    
1) Do you have an inspiration for your writing of Batman, like a classic comic book writer or anyone (or anything) else?

My biggest inspirations for any crime work, which I consider Batman to be, would be Raymond Chandler, Ross Macdonald, and Jim Thompson. But you can't do Batman without looking at Year One, either.

2) If you could work collaborate with another writer for a Batman story who would it be, anyone at all???

Greg Rucka, in fact we did collaborate on the plot of an upcoming event thing.

3) What artists will you be working with on 'Turning Points'?

My issues, 2 and 3, are drawn by Joe Giella, who did a ****ing great job, and Dick Giordano, who knocked himself out as well. They both captured the story perfectly, and held the look of the different eras, too.

These are fun books. And somber, too.

Dre
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:14 PM    
Boss's return to Gotham? That's a hint if I ever saw one! (Doesn't help me though! )

Actually, that screw up with the names is why I didn'y buy #582 at first. It was only after coming to the boards that I checked out the inside and saw your name!

batcave_dweller
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:15 PM    
There you are dude! How's it going?

Dre
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:16 PM    
Which villain do you do in "This issue Batman dies!"?

Ed Brubaker
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:18 PM    
I tied my Batman Dies! issue into the running plotlines of the previous four issues, so it's the Penguin. This might be the best artwork that Scott McDaniel has ever done, on that issue.

It's a total Scott issue.

Dre
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:18 PM    
What's the event with Greg Rucka called?

Dre
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:21 PM    
1. What aspect of Batman's character makes him most interesting to write?

2. Are you allowed to pull non-batfamily members into your plots?

3. If you are, any plans to use some?

4. If so, who?

Ed Brubaker
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:22 PM    
Can't say. I don't want to get in trouble.

Junk Yard Dawg
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:22 PM    
I bet his boss is Bane. He's about the only baddie who's "return to Gotham" is imminent.

Junk Yard Dawg
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:24 PM    
How many drafts of each issue do you go through before you hit the final one?

batcave_dweller
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:24 PM    
Dre, you just said that you didn't buy 582 'cause of the Hama on it. Man, this is Batman, I for one don't care who writes the book, because Bats is good adventure, no matter what (okay, Hama's dialouge was insipid a little). I like Batman because I'm into the whole criminal world in comics, and I like superheroes, so the books are a double whammy.

Gotham City really reminds me of my hometown of Chicago, it's very busy, and the architecture looks like it hasn't really changed since the 30's. Gotham even has a Grant Park as well as Chicago!!! So, now I'm rambling off topic.

Ed, have you ever been to Chicago? Anyone who has been there gets a strange feeling, if you have been there you probably felt it, and I know it sounds stupid, but could you incorperate some Gotham/Chicago plugs, no matter how subtle they are. I will be able to pick 'em out!

------------------
"WHASSUP!!!!!!" (See Legends of the Dark Knight #134 pg. 8)

Batman and Superman made comics what they are today PERIOD!!!

Until they go out of business for lack of advertising, make mine DC!!!

Ed Brubaker
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:25 PM    
1. What aspect of Batman's character makes him most interesting to write?

I like the split between Bruce and Batman. That he thinks Batman is who he really is, and that Bruce is just a mask. I think that plays into the tragedy of the character, which is what really makes him work for me.

2. Are you allowed to pull non-batfamily members into your plots?

Sure.

3. If you are, any plans to use some?

Maybe.

4. If so, who?

Hmmm. I'll have to think about it. Maybe Starfire. (Just kidding).

On the regular writer gig, there should be an announcement at some point in the near future, and I can't say what it will be.

Junk Yard Dawg
Member
posted September 29, 2000 07:25 PM    
Do you think adjectives are good or evil?

This chat is 4 pages long:   1  2  3  4  

All times are ET (US)

Contact Us | DC Comics