Make your own free website on Tripod.com


  Batman Reviews     
  Batman Chats
  Bat Chat #1 (Page 3)

This chat is 3 pages long:   1  2  3  
Neither is the Batman Reviews web site nor DC Comics responsible for any links in this chat.
Author Topic:   Batman Chat with Ed Brubaker and Scott McDaniel - 9/2/2000!
Ed Brubaker
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:01 PM
>>Ed, how do you feel about Batman's role in the larger DC Universe? Do you feel, as Denny seems to, that he should largely be in his own world rather than teaming up with the JLA or interacting with superman? <<

I think he works better as his own thing. None of the Gotham heroes has any actual powers to speak of. That's one thing that makes them interesting to me.

Your logic is good on the NML question, but I'm sure there's a reason. I just wasn't around then.

And about the costume. Yeah, I prefer the old-fashioned grey and no yellow logo on his chest approach. Though I fail to see how it's any more underwear than his previous outfit. I wish we could redo his look to be more realistic, as far as something I person might actually wear, but it'll never happen.

DeForgeo
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:02 PM
Oh, forgot 5) What are your thoughts about the state of the comic industry?
bluedevil2002
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:03 PM
quote:
Originally posted by ScottAMcD:
Response to BD2002:

The link you posted for your Batman Reviews site gives me a loading error which reads "error in initializing, cannot load the background image", and there are no visible links to any reviews. Is this happening to anyone else?

Scott McDaniel


I've noticed that happening before. The only thing I know to do is refresh or come back again.

Thanks to everyone who likes it.

bluedevil2002
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:08 PM
quote:
Originally posted by Ed Brubaker:
Did anyone review our issue yet?

Sadly no, since it just came out. If someone can get a review to me by Monday, it can be put up this weekend. Otherwise, I'll have to wait until next weekend.

But I can't wait to see the review (and the issue itself.)

BTW, Scott, I saw the Mile High 3 page preview of Batman #582, and the art was great. I didn't really get to read the words, since I was in a hurry at the time.

Nutsy Squirrel
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:09 PM
Hello, Ed! Hello, Scott!

Ed,
It seems as though many of the characters and situations you write about are loosely based upon personal experiences (ex: Lowlife, An Accidental Death, etc.). In fact, each time a read issues of Deadenders, I can't help but think that Beezer is supposed to be you!

I noticed that you mentioned 70's books and characters. Any plans on including/reintroducing any of the characters from that period? I can't help but think that you would be able to write Silver St. Cloud perfectly.

I read elsewhere that Deadenders was initially planned as a revival of Swing with Scooter. Any truth to that? I did enjoy the parody of Scooter in issue # 4: Beezer in The Last Days.

I really enjoy the way you are developing Corey as a character, and of course, Sophie is an excellent character as well. I'm really looking forward to the female character/love interest you will be writing for Batman, and I'm looking forward to you run on Catwoman.

Thanks for the great stories! I always look forward to the weeks when the new Brubaker books are released.

Ed Brubaker
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:09 PM
>>I also have some questions about Catwoman, if possible. You say that you want to revamp the character, if I remember correctly. Can you be more specific. Staz will still be the penciler, correct?<<

I can't get into too many specifics about that project yet. It's too far away. I don't know who will draw it for sure, it's up in the air, officially.

>>Will she stick with her purple cat costume?<<
No. But she'll still look like Catwoman. What we have planned is totally cool.

>>Will she develop a bit of a supporting cast?
Yes. Some surprising cast additions, I think.

(To both Scott and Ed)
1) Any plans for Nightwing solo stories from the both of you?

I'd write a Nightwing for Scott anyday, but I don't think he needs me for that.

2) What type of music do you guys listen to? (Just curious)

Sappy pop music(American Music Club, Red House Painters, Elliott Smith), old punk rock(X, Husker Du), 60s country rock (Byrds, Burrito Brothers) and Yo La Tengo.

3) What comics do you guys read? Any favorite creators you follow (again, just curious)?
See some previous answer.

4) When did it occur to you that you wanted to go into comics? And what did your parents think (mine think I'm insane)?

Age 7. They were pretty supportive, but it was the 70s and comics were everywhere.

Rich Morrissey
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:10 PM
Ed, what do you think of the trend of "darkening" so many of the major villains? It worked for The Joker (who started out as a homicidal maniac), but do we really need to have The Riddler or Two-Face (who's supposed to be literally half-good) going on a murdering rampage?

------------------
Rich

"A dead body won't bruise; neither will a dead conscience."
--John Broome, MY LIFE IN LITTLE PIECES

Junk Yard Dawg
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:11 PM
Well, I don't know if anyone's still around, but I'll make some comments.

1. I haven't gotten #582 yet. In fact, I'm really far behind. I haven't started reading THE ORCA series yet. But I have read the first 3 pages of #582 and it was amazing for lack of a better word. Was that the first bubble of blood popping out of someone's mouth in the history of comics? Someone should look into that...

2. BD2002's review site has some of my...um...more ruthless reviews. While some people like to sugar coat things I tend to...um..."go off" on things I don't like. I'm a nice person so don't take anything harsh to heart. I don't complain about either you Ed or Scott though (you are two guys whose work I respect a great deal).

3. Down with underwear on the outside!!

------------------
Do NOT argue with me!! You are ALL wrong!!

ScottAMcD
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:12 PM
Response to BD2002:

My bad, pal. My IE browser in aol crashed at the applet. I loaded my Netscape navigator, and it worked just fine. Very cool site! I can't wait for you guys to review #582!

Response to Tallant1:

1.) What do you think of the interpretation of Batman in Lary Hama's run?

I'd rather not comment on this one.

2.) Which villains do you like to draw the best? Any poignant scenes that you'd like to draw?

I enjoy villains that have a unique flair to them -- an interesting physical trait or stlyized look. For example, one of my all-time favorites turns out to be Blockbuster! He commands a powerful visual, and a diversity within that (sublely dangerous, as well as outright dangerous!). I've been eager to try my hands at the Joker, for his melodramtic qualities. One of the hardest things to do is to capture the uniqueness of characters that lack an obvious key (like the ubiquitous, essential-cypher thug that populates these books).

As for scenes.... I simply enjoy the wide variety of scenes that I am currently tackling. I am hoping more for general activities, like spending more time in the unseen areas of the new Batcave, or exploring more fully the new Gotham city rooftops.

3.) What do you reccomend as good beginning points for a person who wants to draw.

Easy! First, you have to love to draw! If you can't figure out how to summon the muses to you, and you constantly suffer from lack of inspiration, you may want to consider something other than a career as a monthly comic artist. But, beyond this initial consideration, lies much more!

Learn to draw from life. Your style will emerge as you learn how YOU like to interpret that reality. Learning from other artists has it's place, but the artist must study from life.

Study storytelling. Excellent resources include "Comics & Sequential Art" by Will Eisner, and "The Five C's of Cinematography" by Joseph Mascelli. If you build your house on sand, it'll blow over in the wind and waves. Make the foundation underlying your art as strong as it can be.

And thanks for the kind words regarding my Nightwing work.

Scott McDaniel

bluedevil2002
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:13 PM
Ed,

How do you pronounce your last name?

Is it like "Brew" (as in beer) "baker" (as in the guy who makes bread)?

Or is it something else?

bluedevil2002
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:16 PM
quote:
Originally posted by ScottAMcD:
My bad, pal. My IE browser in aol crashed at the applet. I loaded my Netscape navigator, and it worked just fine. Very cool site! I can't wait for you guys to review #582!

Scott McDaniel


No prob. So far the only Nightwing issues done by you that is reviewed are #1/2 and #35. Glad you like the site!

And I will be trying to find someone to review #582 this weekend, or try to get to the comic shop.

------------------
Come see the No Man's Land Cover Gallery & visit The Shadow's Internet Sanctum!

Batman Reviews

Guns for Monkeys!!!!!

Junk Yard Dawg
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:16 PM
Scott--I thought your version of Blockbuster was VERY cool looking. He always had those throbbing veins on his head, even when he wasn't ready to twist some guys head around. The little tufts of hair on either side of his huge cranium were a nice touch too.

Ed--in case your still holding Alfred hostage, I bought all 8 issues of "Deadenders." Not that my purchasing behavior will be enough to let the old dude go, but would you consider ungagging him?

DeForgeo
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:17 PM
Hey? Someone should save this chat (just in case Rob deletes it, or summing.) It'd be good to have on a website (maybe Viceroy's)?
Ed Brubaker
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:21 PM
Okay, this will be my last answer for today, because I have to write Catwoman today, believe it or not.

>>what do you think of the trend of "darkening" so many of the major villains? It worked for The Joker (who started out as a homicidal maniac), but do we really need to have The Riddler or Two-Face (who's supposed to be literally half-good) going on a murdering rampage?<<

I don't know on the Riddler, so much, but Two-face is a killer on one half, and a savior on the other, at least, sort of. Maybe more of a crusader for Justice. These are tragic characters, and should be played that way. It depends on the character, I guess. I prefer to deal with them one at a time, but most real life hard-core criminals are murderers, too.

>>Any plans on including/reintroducing any of the characters from that period? I can't help but think that you would be able to write Silver St. Cloud perfectly.<<

Hard to say. We'll see.

>>I read elsewhere that Deadenders was initially planned as a revival of Swing with Scooter. Any truth to that? I did enjoy the parody of Scooter in issue # 4: Beezer in The Last Days.<<

Yeah, we were just going to use the name, though, like with House of Secrets or Witching Hour. That parody was a nod to the general Archie tone of the series, I think.

Glad to see a Deadenders fan around.

Yes, it probably was the first blood bubble popping, unless Miller did one I don't know about.

It's pronounced just like you think it is.

My name, that is.

Ed Brubaker
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:23 PM
And, as usual, I lurk around this board every day or two. So if any threads are highlighted to me, I'll usually respond. Thanks for making today pleasant, and under control. I think we did okay with a live feed, huh? We'll do another of these after part two, when the truth comes out!
bluedevil2002
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:24 PM
I just thought of another TPB I want to get after Christmas (in case you're wondering why I'm waiting, it's cuz I get a lot of money then, so I usually buy the trades then).

In addition to Deadenders, Static Shock, and DKR, I will get Nightwing: A Knight in Bludhaven. I'm really interested in seeing how the Nitewing and Blockbuster stories started.

Oh, and DeForgeo, good idea to save this. I'll probably do it later, once it's all done, so I don't have to save every 30 seconds.

------------------
Come see the No Man's Land Cover Gallery & visit The Shadow's Internet Sanctum!

Batman Reviews

Guns for Monkeys!!!!!

Rich Morrissey
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:24 PM
Thanks very much for a very different style of online chat, Ed and Scott! I definitely look forward to reading your books...and, yes, I WILL pick up Deadenders!

------------------
Rich

"A dead body won't bruise; neither will a dead conscience."
--John Broome, MY LIFE IN LITTLE PIECES

Junk Yard Dawg
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:24 PM
Thanks Ed and Scott! This thread was fun to read.
ScottAMcD
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:25 PM
Response to DeForgeo:

1) Any plans for Nightwing solo stories from the both of you?

YES! But, mum's the word for now!

2) What type of music do you guys listen to? (Just curious)

My wife is studying opera, so I get treated to a preponderous amount of classical music. My young son has recently discovered Pop rock, so I'm getting treated to Macy Gray, Eminem, and the like. I personally turn on a tv tuned to either CNN or AMC or Discovery or TLC while I work (just to create some background noise). I found that listening to music actually distracts me while I work.

3) What comics do you guys read? Any favorite creators you follow (again, just curious)?

I've actually been reading a lot of nonfiction for the past few years. Gotta keep the left hemisphere happy too!

4) When did it occur to you that you wanted to go into comics? And what did your parents think (mine think I'm insane)?

My parents thought I should get a real job! I gave up a career as an electrical engineer to work in comics!

Scott McDaniel

bluedevil2002
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:28 PM
This was fun, I can't wait until the next one.

See ya around Ed!

Scott, I know you did Daredevil before Nightwing, but I'm not sure of which issues. I know you did Fall of Grace. So, do you remember which issues you did?

------------------
Come see the No Man's Land Cover Gallery & visit The Shadow's Internet Sanctum!

Batman Reviews

Guns for Monkeys!!!!!

ScottAMcD
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:28 PM
Thanks to all who participated!

Scott McDaniel

The Trickster
Member
posted September 02, 2000 05:37 PM
Great job, you guys!

------------------
"There ain't no Sanity Clause."

bluedevil2002
Webmaster of Batman Reviews
posted September 04, 2000 11:17 AM
Portions of this chat were edited. This originally took place on the DC Comics Message Boards.

Also, at that time, Batman #582 had not been reviewed for this site. Thanks to The Angry Batman, that review is now available.
This chat is 3 pages long:   1  2  3  

All times are ET (US)


Contact Us | DC Comics